## Angola

## Political parties and leaders:

- Liberal Democratic Party or PLD [Analia de Victoria PEREIRA];
- National Front for the Liberation of Angola or FNLA [Holden ROBERTO];
- National Union for the Total Independence of Angola or UNITA (largest opposition party) [Isaias SAMAKUVA];
- Popular Movement for the Liberation of Angola or MPLA (ruling party in power since 1975) [Jose Eduardo DOS SANTOS];
- Social Renewal Party or PRS [Antonio MUACHICUNGO]

**note**: about a dozen minor parties participated in the 1992 elections but only won a few seats; they and the other 115 smaller parties have little influence in the National Assembly

## Political pressure groups and leaders:

• Front for the Liberation of the Enclave of Cabinda or FLEC [N'zita Henriques TIAGO, Antonio Bento BEMBE]

**note:** FLEC's small-scale, highly factionalized armed struggle for the independence of Cabinda Province ended after BEMBE's faction signed a peace accord in August 2006; other factions have since demobilized under provisions of the accord, although the two main faction leaders have not acceded to the accord