COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION

2447th Council meeting

GENERAL AFFAIRS AND EXTERNAL RELATIONS

Brussels, 22 July 2002

President: Mr Per Stig Moller

Minister for Foreign Affairs of the Kingdom of

Denmark

Council Conclusions on Zimbabwe

22 July 2002

- 1. The Council reiterated its deep concerns regarding the situation in Zimbabwe, particularly the social and political polarisation, the impasse in the inter-party dialogue between the ZANU-PF and the Movement for Democratic Change, the violations of human rights and the restrictions on the media as well as the deteriorating economic situation caused largely by the policies of the Zimbabwean authorities which impacts negatively on the living conditions of the Zimbabwean people.
- 2. Against this background, the Council decided to expand the list of persons affected by targeted sanctions as referred to in the Council Common Position of 18 February 2002 concerning restrictive measures against Zimbabwe to include all remaining Cabinet Ministers, Politburo Secretaries, Deputy Ministers, Assistant Secretaries of the Politburo and the spouse of President Mugabe, Ms. Grace Mugabe.
- 3. The Council furthermore reviewed its decision of 18 February 2002 to take "appropriate measures" with reference to Article 96 in the ACP-EC Partnership Agreement. The Council concluded that current conditions in Zimbabwe do not ensure respect for human rights, democratic principles and the rule of law. Therefore the Council decided to continue these measures unchanged. The Council reiterated that contributions to operations of a humanitarian nature and projects in direct support of the population, in particular those in the social sectors, are not affected.
- 4. The Council stressed that emergency food aid should under no circumstances be used as a political tool. The Council therefore requests the Commission in consultation with Member States, other donors, NGOs and the UN to draw up concrete guidelines for food distribution in Zimbabwe to ensure a strictly depoliticised distribution.
- 5. The Council again stressed the importance of close cooperation and a continued dialogue on all levels with SADC partners and other international partners on the crisis in Zimbabwe. The EU will use all available possibilities to discuss and express its concern about the situation in Zimbabwe. The Council stressed the importance of the upcoming EU-SADC Ministerial Conference in Copenhagen 7 and 8 November 2002 as part of the ongoing dialogue with these countries on the issues affecting Southern Africa. The Council asked the Presidency to continue the preparations of the conference.
- 6. Whilst recognising the need to reduce poverty by redressing the historical imbalance in land distribution in Zimbabwe, the Council condemns the ongoing fast track land reform policy as a major cause of the present humanitarian crisis. The Council urges the Zimbabwean Government to implement the process agreed at Abuja in September 2001 and to review its fast track land reform as proposed by UNDP in early 2002. It also urges the Zimbabwean Government to take all appropriate measures to respond to the humanitarian emergency by mobilising its own resources and to ensure that food is distributed impartially to all in need.

7. The EU will continue to expand its humanitarian assistance to the people of Zimbabwe and to respond to the United Nations consolidated humanitarian appeal. It reiterates that civil society, NGOs and other stakeholders should be included in the implementation and monitoring of the relief effort.

COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION

Brussels, 19 July 2002

SN 3183/02

ZIMBABWE: Additional Candidates for Targeted Sanctions

Cabinet Ministers

1. Muzenda, Simon Vengesai Vice President, born 28.10.1922 2. Msika, Joseph Vice President, born 6.12.1923 Minister of Finance, born 22.3.1950 3. Makoni, Simbarashe 4. Murerwa, Herbert Minister for Industry and International Trade, born

31.7.1941

5. Mujuru, Joyce Minister for Rural Resources and Water, born 15.4.1955

6. Moyo, July Public Service, Labour and Social Welfare

Minister, born 7.5.1950 7. Chigwedere, Aeneas Education, Sports and Culture Minister, born

25.11.1939

Health and Child Welfare Minister, born 8. Stamps, Timothy 15.10.1936

9. Mombeshora, Swithun

Transport and Communications Minister, born 20.8.1945

10 Chindori-Chininga, Edward Mines and Energy Minister, born 14.3.1955 11. Nhema, Francis Environment and Tourism Minister, born 17.4.1959

12. Mumbengegwi, Samuel Higher Education and Technology Minister, born

23.10.1942

13. Nyoni, Sithembiso Minister of State, Informal Sector, born 20.9.1949 14. Muchena, Olivia Minister of State in Vice-President Msika's Office, born 18.8.1946

15. Buka, Flora Minister of State in Vice-President Muzenda's

office, born 25.2.1968

Politburo Senior Committee members and Secretaries

Senior Committee Members

16. Dabengwa, Dumiso born 1939 17. Mujuru, Solomon born 1949 born 1925 18. Nkomo, Stephen 19. Mugabe, Sabina

Secretaries

20. Muzenda, Tsitsi

Secretary for Finance, born 25.5.1947 21. Karimanzira, David Secretary for External relations, born 27.7.1935 22. Mutasa, Didymus 23. Shamuyarira, Nathan Secretary for Information and Publicity, born 29.9.1928

24. Tungamirai, Joseph Secretary for Employment and Indigenisation,

born 8.10.1948

25. Ndlovu, Naison 26. Hove, Richard Secretary for Production and Labour Secretary for Economic Affairs, born 1935 Secretary for Gender and Culture, born 14.2.1958 27. Muchinguri, Oppah Secretary for Disabled and Disadvantaged Persons Welfare 28. Masuku, Angeline

29. Sikhosana, Absolom Secretary for Youth Affairs 30. Lesabe, Thejiwe Secretary for Women's Affairs, born 1933 31 Chikowore, Enos Secretary for Land and Resettlement, born 1936

Cabinet Deputy Ministers

32 Kuruneri, Christopher

33. Ncube, Abednico 34. Mohadi, Kembo

35. Shumba, Isaiah

36. Parirenyatwa, David

37. Mangwana, Paul

38. Mushohwe, Christopher

39. Mahofa, Shuvai

40. Gumbo, Rugare

Politburo Deputy Secretaries

41. Mangwende, Witness 42. Tawengwa, Solomon

43. Ndlovu, Sikhanyiso

44. Mpofu, Obert

45. Moyo, Simon Khaya

46. Malinga, Joshua

47. Madzongwe, Edna

48. Sakupwanya, Stanley

49. Pote, S M

50. Kasukuwere, Saviour

51. Mathuthu, T

52. Mugabe, Grace

Deputy Minister, Finance and Economic

Development, born 4.4.1949

Deputy Minister, Foreign Affairs, born 13.10.1954 Deputy Minister, Local Government, Public Works and National Housing

Deputy Minister, Education, Sports and Culture,

born 3.1.1949

Deputy Minister, Health and Child Welfare, born 2.8.1950

Deputy Minister, Justice, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs, born 10.8.1961

Deputy Minister, Transport and Communications,

born 6.2.1954

Deputy Minister, Youth Development, Gender and

Employment Creation, born 4.4.1941

Deputy Minister, Home Affairs, born 8.3.1940

Deputy-Secretary for Administration, born 1946

Deputy-Secretary for Finance

Deputy-Secretary for Commissariat, born

20.9.1949

Deputy-Secretary for National Security, born

12.10.1951

Deputy-Secretary for Legal Affairs, born 1945

Deputy-Secretary for Disabled and

Disadvantaged

Deputy-Secretary for Production and Labour, born

11.7.1943

Deputy-Secretary for Health and Child Welfare

Deputy-Secretary for Gender and Culture

Deputy-Secretary for Youth Affairs, born

23.10.1970

Deputy-Secretary for Transport and Social

Welfare

Spouse of Robert Mugabe, born 1965